top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeimei Lai

Moments

Updated: Oct 16, 2023

3/13/2023

  • It is Monday early afternoon in March in Portland, raining. I am sitting in the café. A black mom and her daughter, both in purple jacket, walking out of a purple car, under a purple umbrella, probably going to a nearby restaurant. The shade of purple is close to a shinny electric violet, quite unique and obvious on the street. Individuality.

  • Last night I watched a short video on Youtube about a transformer from Texas. A gay person who removed more than 30 different part from her body, includes her ears. She will eventually become a dragon lady. So brave as an individual who determine to be who she is. Coming from a different culture I am always amazed by how much freedom a person can have in the society and in community.

  • Xijinping just got full votes to continue his position. I am quite curious about what those few thousands of votes mean and what they intensions behind them are. I am in the middle ground when talking about politic positions, because I don't know much about the political people and facts in both countries. But seeing news will sort of start wondering about the behind the scene stuff.

10/16/2023

  • my child is sleeping next to me. her dyed purple hair makes me jealousy, I couldn't seem to bleach off the black in my hair. Will it also stop time putting gray hair on?

  • I walked in to the studio this morning. My boss asked, "how's your weekend?" I responded, "good, hmm, what did I do?" Later on, I realized I actuarially did a lot. Interview, gallery sitting, catch-up with Una, artist talk, deinstallation, farmers market, open studio, pumpkins patch, ended the weekend with a Thai dinner of fake beef rice noodles.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Behavior

strategy of staying focus - eat sunflower seeds heal homesick - eat rice porridge in the morning stay away from loneliness - watch lots of drama feel existence - mind wondering find patience - cooking

Traveling

A road trip with N day 1 My eight years old daughter packed her own bag for five days road trip. First stop we dropped off tote bags at The Arts Center Corvallis and saw their current ink on watercolo

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page